Accountability and Just Move – Go Far, My Health and Making a change!

Last October I realized that I had to change the way I was living.  It was time to wake up and start moving.  Let’s back up a bit…I am a 41 year old Mom with about 40 okay 60 pounds I want to lose.  I have been married going on 15 years and we have 3 children ( a 6 years old son, a 10 year old daughter and a 12 year old son).

So like a lot of people I am great at excuses, I have a whole bag of them at the ready but the excuses weren’t getting me anywhere except making me feel worse about myself.  At the age of 41, I had no energy, I did not want to walk anywhere and I was on so many prescriptions that I feel like I was a grandmother.

Now, I do have reasons why I wouldn’t exercise.  Don’t we all?  I have a herniated discs in my lower back L5/S1 and I have had some other serious surgeries that have limited my ability to exercise.  At this time I am not going to have surgery on my back.  I have dealt with the pain for about 10 years and I am of the mindset that it is time to stop babying the back because the extra weight is not helping it!

So this past fall, I signed up to help with a program at my children’s elementary school called Go Far here in the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  I wanted to help coach the kids and also encourage my children to get healthy.

I thought this would be the key to get in shape and start on my mission to losing weight and getting healthy.  Well, the program was a good idea to start with except as a self employed Mom I couldn’t always make all the practices and I quickly fell behind with the kids.

My big wake up call came one day when I showed up to help and the main coach for the 4th and 5th graders took the group out for a big run.  I quickly became separated from the group with a few of the kids and I tried my hardest to be an inspiration.  What happened was one of the 5th graders was an inspiration to me.  (A lot of you would be surprised as to who the inspiration was that day)

First I had to overcome my absolute embarrassment that I could not keep up with 9 and 10 year old children.  Then as I listened to this beautiful young lady encouraging my daughter to run, that she could do it and just to move, I realized there was a message in there for me as well.

As a Mom I know children are wise, as I listened to what she was saying I was motivated.  Now that day was not a success for me, but it did set my mind on a new attitude and a plan for a better way of life.  This blog is my story, my journal of learning to become healthy and also my accountability for learning just to move again.

I hope you join me in my journey and understand that I hope I am able to motivate at least one person to get off the couch and take a step towards better health.

Leave a Reply

