Starting Boot Camp

The date I sent the first email  inquiring about Boot Camp was October 24, 2011 and I didn’t say anything to my husband at first.  Just sent the email to find out how much it would cost, and in my head I thought okay once I tell my husband he will tell me I am nuts!  Turns out I didn’t get much time to think, they had a camp I could show up for the next morning at 7:00.  Talk about jumping in –  my rational side said HELL NO, my other side said, YOU CAN DO THIS!

I quickly caught my husband up to speed as to what I was thinking who said “Go For It” and I thought he would say I was crazy.  Let’s remember I am about 60 pounds overweight and I have a back problem.  All my old road blocks were in my head, but I was fighting them and my husband believed in me.   Without his support I couldn’t have even started the program, because someone has to get the kids ready in the morning and support me on this journey.

One thing Matt said to me in the email was, “It is an all woman group, beginner to intermediate.  You are not the only beginner. I promise to help you meet your goals.”  BINGO, all woman, not the only beginner.  This was key for me, I wasn’t going to go at this alone.  There were other beginners and it was a women’s group.  Not that I am knocking men, just thought I would feel more comfortable working on myself with the support of other women.

I have to say, I did not sleep well that night.  I was nervous, not sure what was coming my way and worried that I would embarrasses myself.  The hardest part for me on October 25th was just walking in the door.  I think with me that is half the battle, COURAGE to believe in myself that I can succeed.

For the first Boot Camp, we ran one and a half miles.  I remember because Matt told me at the end how far we ran.  I have to confess the first camp is quite blurry for me as my main focus was just trying to breathe, not cry and not give up.  There were other exercises involved that first day, but I don’t remember all that I did.   It was one tough morning, but a step in the right direction.  I have to say I left camp that day exhausted but proud that I showed up.  More adventures to come!

This is video of the December Boot Camp 6 Week Series – Gives you an idea of how much fun we have!

Leave a Reply

