Sunrise in the Outer Banks by local artist Lemmon

Boot Camp – Week 3 – Day 1

What a challenge to get out of bed Monday morning. I had a hard time falling asleep Sunday night, and then out of the blue woke up at 2:30 A.M. ready to go. So after an hour, I feel back asleep for my alarm to go off at 4:30. Had to fight the urge to not roll back over, enjoy the warmth of the blanket and sleep-thru.

NO, I made this six-week commitment and I am going. Have to say I was so happy I did! I am always so nervous before boot camp, but by the end I am so happy I made that a part of my day!

We started with a slow jog to the beach. Then on the beach we started with some jumping jacks and push ups. We also had a motivational talk from Jay who inspires me to do my best. After, we headed on down the beach. Every time the coach blew the whistle, we dropped down and did mountain climbers. Then up we went to jog again.

The next drill was one my husband remembered when he was in boot camp. I described it as we are up, and then dropping to the ground to crawl. My husband helped me remember the correct description – “I’m up, they see me! I’m down!” He said his version included barbwire to keep them crawling, so I am happy to say mine just included sand, barbwire free! This drill was so simple, so challenging and the best part it was fun!

We headed on down the beach until we formed a circle with all types of calisthenics. After calisthenics we broke into groups to work for 10 minutes. We jogged, then did whatever our coach Adam said, then we sprinted (or for me a faster jog) then we did another drill. Up and down the beach till we headed back to the large group.

During all the drills we even took a moment to enjoy the sun rising over the ocean, which is one of the best perks of living in the Outer Banks! It helps to refresh look at the beauty and then go on with the exercise.

We then headed back to the gym, to shake out the sand and head on home. Every time I finish a boot camp morning I feel energized, happy and so proud that I made it through the morning. Couldn’t ask for a better way to start the day.

2 thoughts on “Boot Camp – Week 3 – Day 1

Leave a Reply

