Outer Banks Bootcamps Plus – Week 5 – Monday

William Wallace: Aye, fight and you may die. Run, and you’ll live… at least a while. And dying in your beds, many years from now, would you be willin’ to trade ALL the days, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they’ll never take… OUR FREEDOM!

For this mornings boot camp we were instructed to show up with our war faces on and since Braveheart was referenced last week I went with the William Wallace look.

Actually putting on the face paint this morning at 4:30, was pretty difficult for me.  I am the girl that doesn’t like to dress up for Halloween.  So, I felt quite crazy placing black glitter stick and blue glitter face paint all over my face.  Yes, it’s funny that all I had was glitter products!  I bet no-one has ever sported a glitter war face.

We started our morning with a run down to the beach.  We did stop for push-ups along the way.  When we hit the beach we started what I will just call the up and down drill.  Otherwise known as I’m up they see me, I’m down!  Great way to become sandy sugar cookies in the morning.

photo credit: Christine McMaster Da Mosta

After frolicking in the sand, we headed to the ocean which was a refreshing temperature of 56 degrees.  It will take your breath away, but will also wake you up and soothe sore muscles!  Team Bluefin (my boot camp team) formed a long chain with each of us holding onto the person in front of us.  We then proceeded to walk through the ocean down the beach.  This is quite challenging when you have a human chain and you cannot let go as waves come crashing down.  The hardest part for me was when Jay instructed us to face the beach and not look back.  It’s hard to not look back to check for an incoming wave.   Thank goodness for my amazing teammates on both sides that helped keep the chain strong.

The rest of the morning we did different drills.  Jay had us carry 6 spears to the beach that he strung with string for obstacles.   We then dug in the sand, buried 3 team mates and then proceeded to hop over, crawl under, run and military crawl through the 3 lines of obstacles.  I was happy not to be buried in the sand, that would have been harder for me.  After 3 rounds we than dug out our teammate, carried her down the line and then lifted her over our heads.  We also had push-ups mixed in when we weren’t fast enough.

photo credit: Christine McMaster Da Mosta
The Lady in red was our teammate that was buried and then rescued! She did great!  The gentleman behind her was the other teammate that we carried.

 Jay then picked out three gentleman for each team to carry in a relay.  What good sports they were, to have all of us carrying them as we were doing all we could to hold them up and finish the relay.

We finished our morning with a run down the beach, a variety of abdominal exercises, planks and 2 more dips in the ocean.  All in all, it was a fun morning!  I know for a fact I would not come up with these adventures on my own, nor would I push myself as hard as I do f I didn’t have my boot camp team right beside me working hard.  I couldn’t think of a better way to start the day!  15. 23. 14.9.20.

Tomorrow I start my Tri-training with The Swim Lady.  Make it a great day!

Thank you Christine McMaster DaMosta for the awesome video!

Leave a Reply

