Another round of Boot Camp – Week 1

I already shared my adventures from Monday where I had boot camp and a 5k run.   I did discover that the race I ran on Sunday night my time was 42:23 which is a new PR for me.  In the past I have been well over 45 minutes and dangerously close to the sweeper.  I will take the small steps to success as I know there are more great things to achieve around the corner.

During our morning, we were faced with the possibility of huge rain showers.  There was some sprinkling involved but the only reason I was wet was we jumped in the ocean at least 6 times over the course of our workout.  We also did squats and sit-ups in the water as well as push-ups and sit-ups on the beach.

Today was another big milestone for me.  At boot camp today I ran 3.5 miles on the beach.  This is something I have done before, but I felt like I was dying at the end and I did not want to go back to attempt it again.  Today was different.  I manged to get through the first 10 minutes without wanting to walk.  Usually my mind is saying “you can walk now, hey, I am hurting..STOP!”  Well, my brain was more focused on breathing and moving forward and I didn’t have time for the you need to walk now attitude.

Matt even gave us pointers with our breathing, moving our arms, and picking up our feet so that we are running without fighting ourselves.  He also said the first 10 minutes were the hardest and after that our body starts sending out endorphin’s.  Well, I will keep that in mind so I can make it further and faster.  I now know that I may have turned a corner and I don’t need to be afraid of this thing called running.  Now, I know I am not speedy gonzales but I am happy that at the end of this morning I felt great!  Now I won’t say it was easy today, but I have come a long way towards my perception on running.

When we headed back to the gym, we huddled up and Matt said 1, 2, 3 “bullshi#!”  Nope, that’s not what he said my ears were blocked!  It was 1, 2, 3 Bull Shark our new team name.  I love it!

Bull sharks are considered  aggressive, and they aren’t bothered by other types of water.  They are considered to be the most dangerous sharks in the world.  They also get their name because of their combative disposition and the tendency to head-butt their prey.  Sound like a spirited shark to me and I plan on living up to the name except my combative disposition may just be a determined disposition.

 

Photo: A bull shark

2 thoughts on “Another round of Boot Camp – Week 1

    1. I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food.

Leave a Reply

