Happy 4th of July Firecracker 5k

Happy 4th of July to everyone!  Today my 4th of July started a little different then all the years before.  Instead of sleeping in and eating away the day.  I started my morning by waking up at 4:15 a.m. to run in the Outer Banks Firecracker & Freedom 5k.  Not only did I wake up early, but my 10-year-old daughter and my husband started the day with me at this crazy time!

Woke him up early!

My daughter has been spending her summer volunteering at the races.  She loves handing out the medals to all the runners and helping out with whatever is needed.  I am proud of her for getting up so early in the morning.

My husband decided last night he was going to run the race with me.  I loved that he joined me at the race even though I usually go crazy because he smokes me during the run with no training at all.  Still, so much fun to have family members sharing in the journey.

Today’s race was quite the challenge and it was really hot.  For the race today I started out with a quicker pace then I usually begin a race with.  It was a good plan because I set a new PR for me.  39:09, my last race I was just a little bit over 48:00 (granted it was a beach run at high tide) but I have never dropped below 44:00 so I will take it!  On top of that, I didn’t get smoked by my husband this race, finally all the training is starting to show.  Today was also the first day I actually felt like I was a runner and not an extremely slow jogger (we are talking turtle pace).

I am starting a new tradition and plan to start all my 4th of July’s with a beautiful run with my friends and family.  I do want to send a special thank you out to all the boot campers that cheered and offered words of encouragement.  Just about the time I was feeling exhausted someone would shout my name, clap or let me know I was almost done.  To me it made all the difference and thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Happy 4th of July to everyone – and thank you to my husband, veterans, active duty and anyone else who has served our country to help keep us safe.  Get out there and have some fun today!

Veteran’s Memorial in Nag’s Head

 

My husband and I in front of the Veteran’s Memorial
2 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July Firecracker 5k

Leave a Reply

