Round 4 Here I Come!

My 4th boot camp started this past Monday.  I was so excited the night before I had trouble sleeping…oh ya, that is every night before boot camp!  I recently started a new job and a lot of my co-workers were signing on to take on boot camp.

I am psyched to have an office full of  co-workers joining in the fun.  Now on Monday mornings we can all be high on endorphin’s and body aches.  It will be fun to see the changes headed our way in the next 7 weeks and also accountability with everyone around you working on a give.

I lost a couple of teammates to the more advanced team, but gained some awesome new teammates.  The morning started  with push-ups and then a run to the beach.  I have to say I had a blast on Monday morning, except for the crawling part.  I was relieved to actually have less running on Monday as my hip has been causing me a bit of pain.  I have stretched, iced, applied heat and sent prayers up.  I am sure it is some type of running issue, but I plan to work it out.

.

The morning also involved a lesson on saving someone in the water, my partner was (the one and only) Matt.  He did a great job saving me but if this was an official save job, Matt might have been doomed with all the waves crashing on him.   I am just lucky I didn’t end up doing a ton of push-ups!

We partnered up a couple of times for sit-ups and digging in the sand.  Digging in the sand was quite fun, felt like a kid again especially when we were instructed to make sure we were hitting our teammate with sand.  This round of boot camp is 7 weeks and I look forward to working on my speed and losing some weight.

At the end of the morning we had a quick pow-wow where Matt was issuing us a challenge to think about taking on the 1/2 marathon or marathon in November.  I think my face say’s it all.

I have to say when I first saw this picture I thought I looked like a drowned rat, then Christine posted it on my wall with the words Skinny!  Thank you Christine – I see the perspective now and it is nice to see the changes I have made!  I can also see the changes my fellow boot campers have made too!

Photo Courtesy of the one and only Christine!

I do have the thought of a 1/2 marathon on my mind, but at this time I am more concerned about swimming a mile with my Olympic Tri Team!  I know I can do it, just need to make the jump.  At the end of this camp, I will let you know what I have decided.  Thanks for sharing my journey with me.

2 thoughts on “Round 4 Here I Come!

Leave a Reply

