I’m Back in the Game!

Yesterday I headed back to boot camp after 4 weeks nursing a sprained ankle.  I have missed boot camp but knew I needed to give my ankle the time to heal.  The ankle is not 100% but if I didn’t get back to exercise soon I was going to self-combust!

I realized sitting out these past 4 weeks that I need exercise in my life as a natural mood stabilizer and for stress release   Not to mention the benefits to my health and my special friendships with fellow boot-campers who I think of as family.

fitness quotesI headed out to boot camp at the crazy new time of 5:15 (yuck!) but I was ready to go.  Really in the big scheme of things 15 minutes extra of sleep does not make a big difference.  Just another small mental battle.

I had the usual boot camp jitters, but I did not have self-doubt.  I knew going back for my first day, I can only do what I am capable of, nothing more.  As they say getting back on the horse is the hardest part.

I was greeted warmly by so many of my teammates and I was happy to be back!  Thank you to my teammates and coaches for the warm welcome back.

I was relieved when we warmed up around the building that my lungs still worked.  Back when I first started, a lap around the building was stressful to me.

After push-ups and squats it was time to get started.  Our coach headed us out to the street and on our way.  My friend Theresa, was awesome and stayed with me during this run as my body was screaming at me in shock.  Yes, there is muscle memory but first they have to be shocked back into condition!  Theresa stayed with me through the first part of the morning, and it meant so much to me.  She kept the conversation going while I tried to keep moving.   Big thanks to you Theresa!!!

I have no idea how far we ran yesterday, but each part was a push for me to just keep moving.  At times I was successful and at other times I had to remind myself to not be so hard on myself.

The hardest challenge for me yesterday was when we ran a relay drill and we were paired up into groups of threes.  We did part of the race through a gravel parking lot which had me freaking out a little bit as the last time I ran on gravel I sprained my ankle.

I gave it my best, and by the end of round 7 my head and stomach were in agreement that I made the effort.  I have to say up until that point of the morning I held my own.  Then my lack of conditioning caught me and I was challenged as we headed for the beach.

I had to walk a bit with the gang giving it their best back in  injury alley.  The group in the back is amazing, they are doing their best even when it is painful!  Just have to say to the back of the pack people, you rock!  We supported each other to keep moving and doing what we could do.  Thank you Chris for pushing me, when I couldn’t push myself!

Don't give up

Of course at other times when I was actually jogging and saw a walker I shouted out, “if I’m not walking, you can’t walk – I’ve been out 4 weeks”!  Yesterday, was the only day I could throw that phrase out there so thank you for not tripping me!

Do your best.Right before I hit the beach, I actually had a moment when I thought “it’s okay, you can stop.”  Well, I pushed that emotion down and went with “Do Your Best”, thanks to the wise words of my friend Joan.  Those words carried me the rest of the morning, not only the words but the support of my friends and teammates.

My teammates reached out to me in different ways yesterday, from saying hello to an encouraging word.  Extra special thanks to my team of 3-Kami and Jennifer for not leaving me.

That is the beauty of boot camp, the support, the team, the friendships, amazing athletes, with a little boot camp love, sweat and an occasional tear thrown in! I’m happy to be back even if I may be heading up the back of the pack for a while as I am getting back in the game.

2 thoughts on “I’m Back in the Game!

Leave a Reply

