Damn, Spoke to Soon!

Today, I must have been striving to be a bad ass instead of listening to my body.  Due to my stubbornness I headed to boot camp when my ankle was already hurting from Tuesday.

I chalked it up to muscle pain from Tuesday and wrapped my ankle up tight to be ready for today’s adventure.  I was so excited to be back that I was pushing the pain to the back of my mind and went on with the morning.  Even in the mornings warm-up my ankle was hurting.  I pushed that discomfort aside and kept working through the pain.

When we hit the beach and the sand was super soft, I should have called myself off, but my bad ass side must have been fighting to get out.  The morning was full of challenges, the whole team worked hard today and I love being a part of that.  Way to work it on the beach this morning Sand Fleas!

It’s not up to the coaches to say “Lisa, step away”.  We are all adults.  It’s up to me to listen to my pain and make the decision to keep moving instead of backing down.  It is not giving up if you are injured, it’s part of being an athlete.  Know when to push yourself and know when to back down.

I need to remember there is a difference between muscle fatigue (feeling “the burn”) and  a sharp and uncomfortable pain while exercising which could be muscle or joint pain.  Pain is your body’s way of telling you that you’re doing something wrong. Make sure to listen to your body and know the difference.

Today, I should have backed down but I made the decision to keep going.  There is a difference between the pain of working out and the pain of injury.   On the beach I was hurting.  As  I headed home, I knew that I may have set myself backwards.  The minute I took the tape off my ankle, I saw the swelling and it was new swelling, not just swelling from my previous injury.

Lesson learned for me, I will step back and get this ankle under control so that I can move forward in my fitness journey.  On Tuesday, I spoke too soon.  I am not back quite yet, but will be back as soon as I am able to succeed.  Hopefully, it won’t be too long!  I like being where the magic happens in the Outer Banks.

 

 

Leave a Reply

