I Will Finish

I haven’t written since I have started training for the ½ marathon.   I have been taking time to wrap my mind around 13.1 miles.  I headed back to bootcamp after over 2 months out for my ankle and was going to take it slow, so I surprised myself when I set this goal.  Let’s understand I am the person that was fine with running 5k’s and had no desire to run further.  That changed when I took the challenge to step outside my comfort zone.

This is the first time in my adult life that I have focused on training and have incorporated it into my daily life.  It is a bit overwhelming, but at the same time it feels good to have a plan and support.  The first couple of weeks I have had to work out the kinks of my training schedule to find the right balance between family, work, training and all the volunteer responsibilities I have taken on this year.

13.1

MondayStrength Training Day – after the first class I realized that I had a lot of work to do, when we headed back to the weight room I had trouble lifting the bar on the bench presses.  That’s okay, I know that will pass and I will be stronger.

TuesdayBootcamp Day – went back with my old team two weeks ago.  The first week back it was mentally tough on me to be last and I vomited my first day back on the Indian run which has never happened!  Now that I am on my 3rd week back with my original group I finally feel like I am moving forward.

Wednesday – My day of rest – HALLELUJAH!  

ThursdayBootcamp Track DayI don’t know what it is about track day but it freaks me out every week.  I don’t know if it goes all the way back to my high school days over 24 years ago when I ran track and I did it to stay in shape for volleyball.  My race was the 400 and the 400 relay.  It was a love/hate thing.  I still remember how I felt pushing through and how my legs would feel like jelly by the end of the race.  I know track day is 80% mental and I just need to push myself out of the fear of failure zone.

Friday –   Three Mile Run – I am still trying to get this day right.  I coach Go Far and sometimes I am with a running group and sometimes I am not, but it seems on the days I choose to run in the morning I end up running in the afternoon.  Then if I opt out of running in the morning, then I don’t run in the afternoon.  I will keep trying!

SaturdayLong Run Day – I work on Sunday’s so I did not want to designate my long run day on Sunday’s just in case I needed to recover on the couch or the bed for a while!  My first week was a 5 mile run, which ended up being more of a walk.  The second week was a 7 mile run/walk and Jeanne and I kept between a 12 – 13 minute pace.  For the 3rd week I went for an 8 mile run with Ilona, and was able to run the whole 8 miles with Ilona’s gentle push and steady pace.   Until the last couple weeks I have only run 5 miles once and nothing farther than a 5k.

Sunday Rest Day – I originally planned this for a short run day but after placing a call to Matt, it was decided that this is going to be a rest day for me.  I was actually relieved as I have been trying to figure out how to get more rest into my life between working full-time, shuttling kids, wife, Mom and all the responsibilities of life.  I also work on Sunday’s so this allows me to sleep into 7:00 which is awesome!  

From today’s date I have 18 days till race day.  I have gone from being terrified of the half marathon to the realization that I will be able to finish.  Last week Ilona showed me that I had 8 miles in me.  Through my continuous training with Outer Banks Bootcamps I have felt myself becoming stronger.  I am not the  fastest, but I will be ready to take on the challenge on November 11th and I will finish.

supportI also want to take the time to thank my husband for all he is doing to help me train.  Because he takes on the morning routine with the kids I can train early mornings, and sometimes he even takes on the evenings because I can’t stay awake.  I know without his support, I wouldn’t be where I am now.

Also want to thank my friends Jeanne, Theresa and Ilona that have taken time to run with me on non-bootcamp days!  It’s the support of friends and family that make a goal like this possible.

Special thanks to the coaches and to Adam for helping me work through the diet, training and any other questions I throw his way!    Matt – words cannot express how thankful I am for you and your belief in me.  Jay – You have me on the goal to discover where the magic happens!

Matt, Jay, the coaches and the bootcamp members make me want to continue to better myself and set my goals to the next level.

4 thoughts on “I Will Finish

Leave a Reply

